Skip to simplified nav

Oct. 13, 1997

W. Dean Harman Named Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professor

Charlottesville, Va - The University of Virginia's Board of Visitors has elected professor W. Dean Harman as the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professor. Harman has been a chemistry professor at UVa for eight years. He is only the second person awarded the chair as the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professor.

The Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship was established from Sugar Bowl proceeds provided by the Athletic Department in May 1991.

Four hundred thousand dollars of Virginia's 1991 Sugar Bowl proceeds were provided to academic areas. The $400,000 was split evenly with $200,000 allocated to the Emminent Scholars Program, and $200,000 awarded to Alderman Library. The allocation to Alderman Library was used to establish NABS (on-line Newspaper Abstract Database).

Additional funding for the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship endowment was made from funds received for Virginia's participation in the 1992 Gator Bowl, the 1994 Independence Bowl and the 1995 Peach Bowl. The current value of the endowment exceeds $450,000.

Harman has been awarded the chair for a two-year term that expires on June 30, 1999. He replaces professor of economics Kenneth Elzinga, who held the chair for the past five years after being elected in 1992.

The honor is the latest recognition Harman has received since joining the UVa faculty. He has also been named the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow (1994-95), and been awarded the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award (1993-98), the 1993 University of Virginia All-University Teaching Award, the Cammile and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1992-95) and the Thomas and Margaret Burnett Teaching Award (1991).

Harman is recognized by colleagues and students as a "world class" research scientist in the area of organometallic chemistry. He has also received the highest ratings from students for his undergraduate teaching.

"Given the outstanding educators in all disciplines at the University of Virginia, I was absolutely astonished to learn a scientist had been selected as the recipient of the Cavalier Chair," Harman said. "I'm honored to receive such recognition and grateful to be at a University that recognizes its outstanding teachers as well as its outstanding athletes."

W. Dean Harman will be recognized as the recipient of the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship during the Virginia-Duke football game this Saturday (Oct. 18).


Top Videos
Jeff White
Aliyah Huland El
'Hoos Exit With Heads Held High
Women's Basketball
In its first trip to the NCAA tourney since 2010, 10th-seeded Virginia went 1-1 in Columbia, S.C., defeating seventh-seeded Cal and losing to second-seeded South Carolina.
Felicia Aiyeotan
'Hoos Look To Take Next Step in NCAA Tourney
Women's Basketball
A win Sunday night over second-seeded South Carolina would send 10th-seeded Virginia to the NCAA tournament's Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 2000.
Tony Bennett
End Comes Too Soon for No. 1 Cavaliers
Men's Basketball
In the NCAA tournament's first round, No. 1 seed Virginia lost 74-54 to No. 16 seed UMBC in a South Region game in Charlotte, N.C.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop