UVa's 400 Medley Relay Collects Honorable Mention Accolades

VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM
VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM

VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. - Virginia's 400 medley relay team collected honorable mention All-America accolades late Thursday as the 2012 NCAA Championships opened in Federal Way, Wash. The meet is being held at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center.

Sophomore Parker Camp, senior David Karasek, senior Peter Geissinger and junior Tom Barrett finished 14th in the 400 medley relay with a mark 3:11.26. The Cavaliers posted a season-best time of 3:10.68 during the preliminaries, which ranks as the fourth-fastest in UVa history.

Through six events, Virginia stands in 22nd place with six points.

Karasek went on to place 25th overall in the 200 individual medley. The school record holder in the event, he touched in 1:45.75.

The first diver to compete at the NCAA Championships in nearly 30 years, senior Briggy Imbriglia made his debut with a 33rd-place finish on the 1-meter board. He accumulated a score of 244.15.

The 200 freestyle relay team of Geissinger, Barrett, Karasek and Camp opened the meet with a 17th-place finish, one spot shy of honorable mention All-America accolades. Virginia touched in 1:19.02.

Day two of the NCAA Championships continues Friday with the 200 medley relay, 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke, 3-meter diving and timed finals of the 800 freestyle relay. Preliminaries begin at 11 a.m. Pacific (2 p.m. Eastern) with finals commencing at 7 p.m. Pacific (10 p.m. Eastern). Links to live webcasts and live results are available on VirginiaSports.com.

2012 NCAA Men's Championships  
Team Standings (through event 6)  
1.   California 157.5
2.   Stanford 140
3.   Texas 128.5
4.   Arizona 118
5.   Auburn 106.5
6.   Michigan 84
7.   Southern California
79
8.   Florida 58
9.   Louisville 46
10. Texas A&M
43
22. VIRGINIA 6