Skip to simplified nav
Three Cavaliers to Compete at FINA World Championships

Yannick Kaeser

July 31, 2015

Live Results | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va.—Three members of the Virginia swimming and diving program, senior Yannick Kaeser, junior Leah Smith and sophomore Nicholas Magana, are set to compete at the FINA World Championships, to be held in Kazan, Russia, Aug. 2-9.

Kaeser (Mumpf, Switzerland) will swim in the men’s 100-meter breaststroke and 200-meter breaststroke events. The 100m breast is set to begin on Sunday (Aug. 2), while the 200m breast is scheduled to begin on Thursday (Aug. 6). He also could swim on the Swiss relays throughout the meet.

Smith (Pittsburgh, Pa.) is set to swim as part of the U.S. women’s 4x200-meter freestyle relay on Thursday. She earned gold with the same relay at the 2014 Pan Pacific Championships in Gold Coast, Australia. Smith has already competed for the U.S. this summer, earning gold in the 400m free and 4x200m free relay at the World University Games in Gwangju, South Korea.

Magana (Scottsdale, Ariz.) will be competing in the men's 100-meter freestyle for Peru on Wednesday (Aug. 5). Magana swam for Peru at the Pan Am Games in July as part of three relays, including the 4x100-meter freestyle relay that placed seventh. 





Top Videos
Jeff White
De'Andre Hunter (12) and Jack Salt (33)
'Hoos Make Themselves at Home in Atlanta
Men's Basketball
No. 2 Virginia, which plays Sunday at Wake Forest, stretched its winning streak to nine games with a victory over Georgia Tech in Atlanta on Thursday night.
Annie Tyson
Tyson Finds Perfect Fit at UVA
Women's Squash
Annie Tyson, who also starred in lacrosse in high school, is one of the leaders of the UVA women's squash team.
Devon Hall
No. 3 Cavaliers Keep Rolling at JPJ
Men's Basketball
No. 3 Virginia remained atop the ACC standings with a 68-51 victory over NC State at John Paul Jones Arena on Sunday night.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop