Skip to simplified nav
Cavaliers Travel to Arkansas for NCAA Indoor Championships

Anthony Kostelac

 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships
 Dates  Fri.-Sat., Mar. 8-9, 2013 
 Location  Fayetteville, Ark. | Randal Tyson Track
 Multimedia  Meet Information | Live Results | Watch on ESPN3
 Additional Information  Twitter | Facebook | Meet NotesGet Acrobat Reader

March 7, 2013

CHARLOTTESVILLE - The Virginia men's and women's track and field teams conclude the indoor season this week as six athletes travel to Arkansas for the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships, held at the Randal Tyson Track in Fayetteville. The meet will take place on Friday and Saturday with live coverage available online on ESPN3.

The men's distance medley relay of Brandon Burton, Payton Hazzard, Anthony Kostelac and Taylor Gilland qualified for the meet, as did Vicky Fouhy in the women's mile and Dallas Rose in the women's triple jump. The top 16 individuals and the top 12 relay teams in each event earned a place at the meet.

The quartet of Burton, Hazzard, Kostelac and Gilland had the 12th-best time in the nation this season with their 9:31.23 at the Alex Wilson Invitational last week. It marks the first NCAA Indoor Championship appearance for each of the four and the first time since 2009 that Virginia's DMR has qualified for the meet. The men's DMR will start at 9:00 pm CT (10 pm ET) on Friday.

Rose is making her second consecutive appearance at the NCAA Indoor Championships, having finished 12th last year. Her mark of 42'6.75" at the ACC Championships is the 12th-best jump in the nation this year. The women's triple jump begins at 6:00 pm CT (7:00 pm ET) on Saturday.

Fouhy will make her NCAA Indoor Championships debut in the women's mile. She ran 4:34.87 on Saturday at the Alex Wilson Invitational, the ninth-best time in the nation. The preliminaries for the women's mile are at 5:30 pm CT (6:30 pm ET) on Friday and the final is at 6:00 pm CT (7:00 pm ET) on Saturday.


 

 

Schedules

Top Videos
Jeff White
Kyle Guy
'Hoos Head Into Finals on High Note
Men's Basketball
12/7/16
No. 14 Virginia, which defeated East Carolina on Tuesday night, doesn't play again until Dec. 17, when Robert Morris visits JPJ.
Darius Thompson
'Hoos Learn Painful Lessons in Loss
Men's Basketball
12/3/16
No. 6 Virginia's 24-game winning streak at John Paul Jones Arena ended Saturday with a 66-57 loss to No. 25 West Virginia.
London Perrantes
Soccer Teams Turn Attention to 2017
Men's Soccer
12/2/16
The Virginia men's and women's soccer teams are fixtures in their respective NCAA tournaments, and 2017 should bring more success for both.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

jwhite@virginia.edu

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

Archives
More Headlines
Online Stores
Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop