Skip to simplified nav

All-Purpose Yards

Quick Links Section

All-Purpose Yards
Career Leaders
Single-Season Leaders
Single-Game Leaders
Annual Leaders

All-Purpose Yards
Career4981Frank Quayle1966-68
Season2054Thomas Jones1999
Sr.2054Thomas Jones1999
Jr.1906Tiki Barber1995
Soph.1616Frank Quayle1966
Fr.1670Wali Lundy2002
Game331Thomas Jones vs. Buffalo1999
Sr.331Thomas Jones vs. Buffalo1999
Jr.311Tiki Barber vs. Florida State1995
Soph.271Mikell Simpson vs. Maryland2007
Fr.239Wali Lundy vs. West Virginia2002
Career All-Purpose Yards Leaders
1.Frank Quayle1966-68269511455010914981
2.Alvin Pearman2001-04239413966005794969
3.Tiki Barber1993-9633896026941844869
4.Thomas Jones1996-99399857182474698
5.Terry Kirby1989-923348102202674637
6.Wali Lundy2002-05319389504094497
7.Kevin Parks2011-143219779003998
8.John Papit1947-5032388576513981
9.Tommy Vigorito1977-80291341575873922
10.Perry Jones2009-1220331165924323722
11.Darius Jennings2011-1418316673018393719
12.Bill Dudley1939-411631208793605+3396
13.Cedric Peerman2005-081749344012563349
14.Jerrod Washington1990-93165114614113363274
15.Marcus Wilson1987-89221932005403079
+ includes interception returns for 159 yards
Season All-Purpose Yards Leaders
1.Thomas Jones19991117982391702054186.7
2.Alvin Pearman20041210374023141951938161.5
3.Tiki Barber1995121397216272211906158.8
4.Frank Quayle196810121342602301869186.9
5.Tiki Barber199611136025824101859169.0
6.Bill Dudley194199686048189+1674186.0
7.Wali Lundy20021482643504091670119.3
8.Frank Quayle196610727420304391616161.6
9.John Papit1949101214003971611161.1
10.Marcus Wilson198912109816102841543128.6
11.Thomas Jones199811130317913271522138.4
12.Frank Quayle196710755299204221496149.6
13.Taquan Mizzell2015126717210961488124.0
14.Perry Jones2011139155064701468112.9
+ includes interception returns for 76 yards
Single-Game All-Purpose Yards Leaders
1.Thomas Jones vs. Buffalo, 199922111000331
2.Bill Dudley vs. North Carolina, 194121505951325
3.Tiki Barber vs. Florida State, 199519345730311
4.John Papit vs. George Washington, 19492030081284
5.Frank Quayle vs. Maryland, 196821645011272
6.Mikell Simpson* vs. Maryland, 200611915200271
7.Alvin Pearman vs. Duke, 20042234400267
8.Bill Dudley vs. Lehigh, 194116720780265
9.Frank Quayle vs. Davidson, 196815385021259
10.Tiki Barber vs. Duke, 199518527430255
11.Frank Quayle vs. Tulane, 196812149084254
12.Frank Quayle vs. Maryland, 19662213100252
13.Frank Quayle vs. South Carolina, 1967391010111251
14.John Papit vs. VMI, 19491570093250
 Alvin Pearman vs. Virginia Tech, 2004147321655250

Annual All-Purpose Yards Leaders
1940Bill Dudley46960832103561178
1941Bill Dudley (led nation)9686076481891674
1942Eddie Bryant48404011276391
1944John Duda7161926028799
1946Ray Brown387144360115619
1947Bruce Bailey398400165143746
1948John Papit8858001461039
1949John Papit (led nation)12140003971611
1950John Papit94962071081126
1951Bobby Pate4406400145649
1952Gerry Furst69900077776
1953Henry Strempek315511835240659
1954Herb Hartwell39010400110604
1955Jim Bakhtiar7335500151939
1956Jim Bakhtiar87915001131007
1957Jim Bakhtiar822130055890
1958Sonny Randle (led ACC)1364232475061240
1959Tom Gravins35919509346909
1960Fred Shepherd529680185683
1961Bobby Freeman18770081162500
1962Terry Sieg21628120157131805
1963John Pincavage2561369337126648
1964John Pincavage177331064293865
1965John Pincavage (led ACC)11956601353441164
1966F. Quayle (led ACC, nation)7274200304391616
1967Frank Quayle (led ACC)7552990204221496
1968Frank Quayle (led ACC)1213426002301869
1969Gary Helman851860048985
1970Jim Lacey6091300360982
1971Kent Merritt82873003511252
1972Kent Merritt5752800227830
1973Harrison Davis57730081859
1974Joe Sroba632560144401142
1975David Sloan848179056191102
1976Joe Sroba116900558728
1977Tommy Vigorito32665021504916
1978Tommy Vigorito800530-1483922
1979Greg Taylor9331820001115
1980Tommy Vigorito742239000981
1981Greg Taylor102418044164728
1982Antonio Rice76467000831
1983Howard Petty835116000951
1984Barry Word60375003511029
1985Barry Word (led ACC)12247600761376
1986Chris Warren38016201367681446
1987Marcus Wilson692134002121038
1988Tim Finkelston03460177324847
1989Marcus Wilson1098161002841543
1990Terry Kirby10203240091353
1991Terry Kirby8874060001293
1992Terry Kirby (led ACC)11302410011372
1993Jerrod Washington871720542531250
1994Tiki Barber59112601811181016
1995Tiki Barber (led ACC)13972160272211906
1996Tiki Barber (led ACC)1360258024101859
1997Terrence Wilkins-25060944411039
1998Thomas Jones1303179013271522
1999Thomas Jones (led ACC)179823901702054
2000Antwoine Womack10288100971206
2001Alvin Pearman37128302472661167
2002Wali Lundy826435004091670
2003Alvin Pearman6435180381281327
2004Alvin Pearman (led ACC)103740203141851938
2005Cedric Peerman2371400542793
2006Jason Snelling7722820001054
2007Mikell Simpson57040200571029
2008Cedric Peerman774193001081075
2009Rashawn Jackson4612220013696
2010Perry Jones6462240451911106
2011Perry Jones91550604701468
2012Khalek Shepherd1221290899291269
2013Kevin Parks10313290001360
2014Darius Jennings115521006771313
2015Taquan Mizzell67172100961488

Top Videos
Jeff White
Sergi Nus
Nus Traveling Road to Recovery
Men's Soccer
Rising senior Sergi Nus, an All-ACC defender who's recovering from a torn ACL, expects to be ready for Virginia's opener in August.
Devon Hall
Hall Working to Raise NBA Stock
Men's Basketball
By the time the NBA draft arrives on June 21, former UVA guard Devon Hall will have worked out for nearly two-thirds of the league's 30 teams.
Jack Mueller
Mueller Sets Sights on World Title
Early this month, Jack Mueller, a rising junior at UVA, clinched a spot on the U.S. team that will compete at the U23 freestyle world championships in Romania.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop