Skip to simplified nav

Cavaliers In The NFL Draft

YearNamePos.TeamRound (Overall)
1940Jim GilletteBGreen Bay Packers18 (169)
1942Bill DudleyBPittsburgh Steelers1 (1)
1945John DudaBPhiladelphia Eagles14 (140)
1946Joe KirklandTBoston Yanks13 (112)
 Charlie EllisBNew York Giants28 (265)
1947Tom DudleyEWashington Redskins23 (208)
1948Bruce BaileyBLos Angeles Rams5 (30)
 George GrimesBLos Angeles Rams6 (40)
 Ray BrownBChicago Bears18 (164)
 Lockwood FrizzellCPhiladelphia Eagles22 (204)
 Joe McCaryBBoston Yanks28 (259)
 George NeffBBoston Yanks32 (294)

1949Joe LeonardTLos Angeles Rams19 (187)
1950Carlton ElliottEGreen Bay Packers13 (160)
 Ralph ShoafBWashington Redskins28 (357)
1951Gene SchroederEChicago Bears1 (12)
 John PapitBWashington Redskins7 (76)
 Dick JohnsonTGreen Bay Packers20 (233)
1952Bob MillerTDetroit Lions5 (58)
 Jimmy LesaneBChicago Bears20 (236)
 Joe PalumboGSan Francisco 49ers28 (334)
1953Tom ScottELos Angeles Rams5 (60)
 Bob TataBDetroit Lions21 (253)
1954Joe MehalickTPhiladelphia Eagles13 (153)

1956John PolzerLBBaltimore Colts15 (175)
 Herb HartwellBBaltimore Colts27 (319)
1957Henry JordanTCleveland Browns5 (52)
 Bob GundermanEDetroit Lions19 (227)
1958John DiehlTBaltimore Colts7 (82)
 Harold OuttenTDetroit Lions7 (85)
 Fred PolzerTWashington Redskins16 (186)
 Sonny RandleBChicago Cardinals19 (218)
1960Dave GrahamEPhiladelphia Eagles13 (153)
1962Ron GassertTGreen Bay Packers4 (56)
1963Turnley ToddLBGreen Bay Packers7 (85)
1964Terry SiegHBCleveland Browns14 (194)

1965Bob KowalkowskiGDetroit Lions7 (95)
1966Don ParkerGSan Francisco 49ers4 (56)
 John PincavageHBDetroit Lions8 (117)
1967Bob DavisQBHouston Oilers2 (30)
 Ed CarringtonFLHouston Oilers7 (164)
 Jim CopelandGCleveland Browns10 (255)
 Carroll JarvisHBSan Diego Chargers11 (277)
 George StetterDBNew Orleans Saints14 (367)
1968John NaponickTOakland Raiders5 (136)
1969Frank QuayleRBDenver Broncos5 (113)
 Jeff AndersonRBWashington Redskins7 (166)
 Greg ShellyGCleveland Browns10 (254)
 Rick BrandDTWashington Redskins14 (347)
 Paul RogersTWashington Redskins15 (374)

1971Dan RyczekCWashington Redskins13 (322)
1972Andy SelfridgeLBSan Diego Chargers13 (321)
1973Dave SullivanWRCleveland Browns15 (384)
1974Harrison DavisWRSan Diego Chargers4 (81)
 Paul RyczekCAtlanta Falcons10 (252)
 Kent MerrittWRNew Orleans Saints11 (270)
1975Dick AmbroseLBCleveland Browns12 (290)
 Ken SheltonTEDenver Broncos15 (381)
1976Tom GlassicGDenver Broncos1 (15)
 Scott GardnerQBBuffalo Bills8 (215)

1977Mike OzdowskiDEBaltimore Colts2 (53)
1978John ChomaGSan Diego Chargers5 (135)
1979Russ HendersonPBaltimore Colts9 (224)
1980Tony BlountDBNew York Giants5 (118)
 Grant HudsonDTSt. Louis Cardinals8 (211)
1981Tom VigoritoRBMiami Dolphins5 (138)
1982Stuart AndersonLBKansas City Chiefs4 (104)
 Greg TaylorKRNew England Patriots12 (308)
1984Quentin WalkerRBSt. Louis Cardinals7 (185)
 Billy GriggsTENew York Jets8 (203)
1985Lester LylesDBNew York Jets2 (40)
 Bob OldermanOGKansas City Chiefs4 (99)
1985Ron MattesDTSeattle Seahawks7 (193)

1986Jim DombrowskiOTNew Orleans Saints1 (6)
 Barry WordRBNew Orleans Saints3 (62)
 Jim HuddlestonOGWashington Redskins6 (156)
1987Don MajkowskiQBGreen Bay Packers10 (255)
1988Scott SeculesQBDallas Cowboys6 (151)
1989Jeff LagemanLBNew York Jets1 (14)
 John FordWRDetroit Lions2 (30)
1990Marcus WilsonRBLos Angeles Raiders6 (149)
 Ray SavageDELos Angeles Rams8 (198)
 Tim O'ConnorOTCincinnati Bengals11 (288)
1991Herman MooreWRDetroit Lions1 (10)
 Tony CovingtonDBTampa Bay Buccaneers4 (93)
 Bruce McGonnigalTEPittsburgh Steelers9 (239)
 Shawn MooreQBDenver Broncos11 (284)

1992Ray RobertsOTSeattle Seahawks1 (10)
 Matt BlundinQBKansas City Chiefs2 (40)
 Nikki FisherRBChicago Bears10 (273)
1993Chris SladeDENew England Patriots2 (31)
 Terry KirbyRBMiami Dolphins3 (78)
 David WareOTNew York Jets4 (88)
 Greg JeffriesDBDetroit Lions6 (147)
1994Keith LyleDBLos Angeles Rams3 (71)
 Jim ReidOTHouston Oilers5 (161)
1995Mike FrederickDECleveland Browns3 (94)
 Tyrone DavisWRNew York Jets4 (107)
 Charles WayRBNew York Giants6 (206)
1996Patrick JeffersWRDenver Broncos5 (159)

1997James FarriorLBNew York Jets1 (8)
 Jon HarrisDEPhiladelphia Eagles1 (25)
 Jamie SharperLBBaltimore Ravens2 (34)
 Tiki BarberRBNew York Giants2 (36)
 Ronde BarberDBTampa Bay Buccaneers3 (66)
 Duane AshmanDEDetroit Lions5 (161)
1998Germane CrowellWRDetroit Lions2 (50)
 Doug KarczewskiOTNew York Jets5 (141)
1999Patrick KerneyDEAtlanta Falcons1 (30)
 Wali RainerLBCleveland Browns4 (124)
 Aaron BrooksQBGreen Bay Packers4 (131)
 Antonio DingleDTPittsburgh Steelers7 (214)
 Anthony PoindexterDBBaltimore Ravens7 (216)
 Robert HuntOTTampa Bay Buccaneers7 (226)
2000Thomas JonesRBArizona Cardinals1 (7)

 John St. ClairCSt. Louis Rams3 (94)
 Shannon TaylorLBSan Diego Chargers6 (184)
 Antwan HarrisDBNew England Patriots6 (187)
2001Billy BaberTEKansas City Chiefs5 (141)
2002Chris LuzarTEJacksonville Jaguars4 (118)
 Monsanto PopeDTDenver Broncos7 (231)
 Antwoine WomackRBNew England Patriots7 (237)
2003Angelo CrowellLBBuffalo Bills3 (94)
 Billy McMullenWRPhiladelphia Eagles3 (95)
2004Matt SchaubQBAtlanta Falcons3 (90)

2005Heath MillerTEPittsburgh Steelers1 (30)
 Darryl BlackstockLBArizona Cardinals3 (95)
 Elton BrownOGArizona Cardinals4 (111)
 Alvin PearmanRBJacksonville Jaguars4 (127)
 Chris CantyDEDallas Cowboys4 (132)
 Andrew HoffmanNTCleveland Browns6 (203)
 Patrick EstesTESan Francisco 49ers7 (248)
2006D'Brickashaw FergusonOTNew York Jets1 (4)
 Brad ButlerOTBuffalo Bills5 (143)
 Marques HagansWRSt. Louis Rams5 (144)
 Wali LundyTBHouston Texans6 (170)
 Kurt SmithPKSan Diego Chargers6 (188)

2006Ahmad BrooksLBCincinnati Bengals3 
2007Jason SnellingFBAtlanta Falcons7 (244)
 Marcus HamiltonCBTampa Bay Buccaneers7 (245)
2008Chris LongDESt. Louis Rams1 (2)
 Branden AlbertOGKansas City Chiefs1 (15)
 Tom SantiTEIndianapolis Colts6 (196)
2009Eugene MonroeOTJacksonville Jaguars1 (8)
 Clint SintimLBNew York Giants2 (45)
 Cedric PeermanRBBaltimore Ravens6 (189)
 John PhillipsTEDallas Cowboys6 (208)
2010Chris CookCBMinnesota Vikings2 (34)
2011Ras-I DowlingCBNew England Patriots2 (33)
2012Cam JohnsonDESan Francisco 49ers7 (237)


Top Videos
Jeff White
De'Andre Hunter
Summer Buildup Begins in Earnest
Men's Basketball
The Virginia men's basketball team, which will travel to Spain in August, held its first practice of the summer Tuesday at JPJ.
O'Leary Takes Unusual Path to Olympics
Women's Rowing
Meghan O'Leary, who played softball and volleyball at UVA, will represent the United States in rowing at the Olympics this summer.
Lars Tiffany
Tiffany Plans to Push Pace at UVA
Men's Lacrosse
New men's lacrosse coach Lars Tiffany comes to Virginia from Brown, which went 16-3 and led the nation in scoring this season.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Team Shop