Skip to simplified nav

Interception Records

Quick Links Section

Most Interceptions
Most INTs Returns for TDs
Interception Return Yardage
Longest Interception Returns
Career Interception Leaders
Annual Interception Leaders

Most Interceptions
Career- 17,Keith McMeans, 1987-90
Season- 9,Keith McMeans, 1987
Game- 3,Eddie Bryant vs. Maryland, 1940
 Reece Whitley vs. North Carolina, 1957
 Pete Schmidt vs. Davidson, 1968
 Mike Pettine vs. NC State, 1986
 Keith McMeans vs. NC State, 1987
 Anthony Poindexter vs. NC State, 1996
 Rodney McLeod vs. Maryland, 2011
Most Int. Returned for TDs
Career- 4, Randy Neal, 1991-94
Season- 2, Randy Neal, 1992 and 1994
Game- 2, Randy Neal vs. Virginia Tech, 1992
Interception Return Yardage
Career-296, Pat Chester, 1978-82
Season-133, Almondo Curry, 2003
Game- 97, Pat Chester vs. James Madison, 1979
Longest Interception Returns
95Ted Rzempoluch, Maryland, 1961
95Antwan Harris, North Carolina, 1996
79+Bill Sinclair, Tulane, 1950
77Randy Neal, Georgia Tech, 1994
70+John Duda, Richmond, 1946
69+Greg McClellan, Duke, 1991
69Maurice Canady, Kent State, 2014
65+Chase Minnifield, Richmond, 2010
64+John Pincavage, William & Mary, 1963
64Bob McGrail, Army, 1971
63+Tony Blount, North Carolina, 1976
62Bob Rannigan, Navy, 1968
62+Pat Chester, James Madison, 1979
60Lawrence Baumann, Richmond, 1947
60Vic Hall*, Richmond, 2008
+ Non-scoring play

Career Interception Leaders
1.Keith McMeans1987-9017885.20
2.Pat Chester1978-821629618.50
3.Ronde Barber1994-96151127.50
 Marcus Hamilton2002-06151278.50
5.Kevin Cook1986-8914805.71
6.Chase Minnifield2008-11131643.41
7.Bryan Shumock1977-801220917.41
 Joe Crocker1992-9512766.31
 Anthony Poindexter1995-981214111.80
10.Pete Schmidt1967-6911504.50
 Andy Minton1968-701114012.71
 Derrick Glasper1975-781111910.80
 Jason Wallace1987-9011726.51
 Keith Lyle1990-931114212.90
 Shernard Newby1999-0211403.60
 Anthony Harris2011-1411857.70
16.Bill Dudley1939-411015915.91
 Bill King1950-521011411.41
 George Stetter1964-661016116.10
 Steve Sroba1971-7310565.60
 Percy Ellsworth1992-9510323.20
 Paul London1992-9510202.00
Annual Interception Leaders
1940Bill Dudley68313.81
1941John Neff55410.80
 Bill Suhling5459.00
1942Ed Kreich47017.50
 Tabb Gillette44010.00
1944Lucien Burnett45714.30
1946Ray Brown24321.50
1947Whitey Michels300.00
1948Steve Osisek34515.00
 Whitey Michels331.00
1949Steve Osisek36020.00
 Gene Schroeder3248.00
1950Tom Berry23618.00
 Jimmy Lesane2178.50
 Norman Scott252.50
1951Jimmy Lesane47117.81
1952Bill King68313.80
1953John Polzer22914.50
 Henry Strempek2189.00
1954Rives Bailey45614.00
1955Rives Bailey273.50
 Herb Hartwell231.50
1956Alan Reynolds23819.00
 Jim Keyser22211.00
1957Reece Whitley (led ACC)58116.20
1958Sonny Randle23216.00
1959Eight players tied with one
1960Carl Kuhn4399.80
1961Stan Fischer44411.00
1962Gary Cuozzo4369.00
 Bobby Freeman4184.50
1963Tom Krebs (led ACC)4205.00
1964Jim Donley22613.00
1965George Stetter49924.80
1966George Stetter5408.00
1967Pete Schmidt33010.00
1968Pete Schmidt650.80
1969Andy Minton4133.30
1970Andy Minton38227.31
 Russ Bauda3248.00
1971Steve Sroba300.00
1972Doug Jones33210.60
 Steve Sroba33110.30
1973Steve Sroba4256.30
1974Eric Dahlgren4287.00
1975Butch Powers3155.00
1976Tony Blount39632.00
1977Derrick Glasper (led ACC)510420.80
1978Bryan Shumock44110.30
1979Pat Chester510320.60
1980Bryan Shumock (led ACC)55611.20
1981Keith Lee3268.70
1982Pat Chester612520.80
1983Bart Farinholt45513.80
1984Ray Daly (led ACC)6559.20
1985Scott Lageman22010.00
 Kevin Gould252.50
1986Mike Pettine5367.20
1987Keith McMeans (led nation, ACC)9353.90
1988Keith McMeans (led ACC)5499.80
1989Jason Wallace5448.80
1990Keith McMeans341.30
 Jason Wallace382.70
1991Keith Lyle26834.00
 Carl Smith2199.50
1992Keith Lyle4317.80
1993Keith Lyle5438.60
1994Ronde Barber (led ACC)8567.00
1995Percy Ellsworth6213.50
 Paul London6203.30
1996Stephen Phelan4215.30
 Anthony Poindexter45814.50
1997Anthony Poindexter45513.80
1998Adrian Burnim4369.00
1999Jerton Evans410.20
2000Ahmad Hawkins4317.80
2001Shernard Newby5397.80
2002Shernard Newby310.30
2003Almondo Curry (led ACC)613322.21
2004Marcus Hamilton4-2-0.50
2005Marcus Hamilton (led ACC)6284.70
2006Marcus Hamilton510120.20
2007Jeffrey Fitzgerald22512.51
 Ras-I Dowling2178.50
 Jon Copper273.50
2008Ras-I Dowling300.00
2009Chris Cook46616.51
2010Chase Minnifield68013.30
2011Rodney McLeod4153.80
2012Maurice Canady*23919.50
2013Anthony Harris (led nation, ACC)8425.30
2014Quin Blanding362.00
 Maurice Canady36923.01
2015Darious Latimore284.00

Top Videos
Jeff White
Carla Williams
Shared Vision Unites Mendenhall and Williams
General Release
Virginia's new athletics director, Carla Williams, has formed a strong working relationship with head football coach Bronco Mendenhall.
Beth Lillie
Lillie Helps Lead Cavaliers' Resurgence
Women's Golf
Beth Lillie, one of four freshmen named to the All-ACC team, is second in scoring average for UVA, which plays in the NCAA championships this week.
Jake McCarthy
McCarthy's Return Sparks Cavaliers
After missing 34 games with a wrist injury, junior Jake McCarthy returned to the lineup and helped UVA secure a critical ACC series win over Georgia Tech.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop