Skip to simplified nav

Punt Returns Records

Quick Links Section

Punt Returns
Punt Return Yardage
Longest Punt Returns
Annual Punt Return Leaders

Punts Returned
Career100Pat Chester1978-82
Season35Jimmy Lesane1951
Game9Eddie Bryant vs. Hampden-Sydney1942

Punt Return Yardage
Career808Pat Chester1978-82
Season481Bill Dudley1941
Game140Jimmy Lesane vs. Virginia Tech1951

Longest Punt Returns
95Harry Martin to Bus Male to Harry MartinMaryland1935
89Bill DudleyLafayette1941
79Terry SiegVirginia Tech1962
79+Jason WallaceClemson1990
76Chris WarrenNavy1986
75+Gene SchroederPennsylvania1950
75+Steve SrobaMaryland1972
74Tiki BarberNavy1994
74Tiki BarberNC State1996
74Maurice CanadyWilliam & Mary2015
72Eddie KnowlesVirginia Tech1952
70Bobby FreemanWake Forest1961
70Gerard MullinsVanderbilt1971
70Pat ChesterDuke1980
70Alvin PearmanTemple2004
+ Non-scoring play

Annual Punt Return Leaders
1940Eddie Bryant2842115.02
1941Bill Dudley2848117.21
1942Eddie Bryant131128.60
1944Charlie Ellis1213711.40
1946Billy Pennel56813.60
1947Billy Pennel1016416.41
1948Barney Gill1421515.40
1949Steve Osisek1217314.40
1950Gene Schroeder1420514.60
1951Jimmy Lesane3538711.10
1952Eddie Knowles3236511.43
1953Eddie Knowles411428.51
1954Eddie Knowles9728.00
1955Nick Lawyer47017.51
1956Ralph Kneeland46716.80
1957Sonny Randle5469.20
1958Sonny Randle5479.40
1959Fred Trainor5428.40
1960Carl Kuhn47418.50
1961Bobby Freeman48120.31
1962Terry Sieg615726.21
1963Gene Angle45413.50
1964Roger Davis10898.90
1965John Pincavage1213511.30
1966George Stetter1818210.10
1967Paul Klingensmith1212510.40
1968Chuck Mooser912714.11
1969Chuck Mooser88510.60
1970Dave Sullivan171257.40
1971Gerard Mullins312989.61
1972Gerard Mullins1618311.40
1973Gerard Mullins171076.30
1974Tom Fadden191095.70
1975Joe Sroba8597.40
1976Derrick Glasper11615.50
1977Mickey Spady16644.00
1978Pat Chester311906.10
1979Pat Chester (led ACC)252489.92
1980Pat Chester (led ACC)1919210.11
1981Bob Sweeney13413.20
1982Pat Chester191286.70
1983Bart Farinholt151057.00
1984Ray Daly201618.10
1985Chris Warren261686.50
1986Chris Warren171368.01
1987Tim Finkelston251827.30
1988Tim Finkelston251777.10
1989Tim Finkelston221597.20
1990Jason Wallace3240312.61
1991Larry Holmes262198.40
1992Jerrod Washington20874.40
1993Larry Holmes131048.00
1994Tiki Barber1718110.61
1995Tiki Barber322728.50
1996Tiki Barber (led ACC)1924112.71
1997Terrence Wilkins17945.50
1998Terrence Wilkins171659.70
1999Arlen Harris1619812.40
2000James Johnson201155.80
2001Alvin Pearman272479.10
2002Marques Hagans292629.01
2003Marques Hagans282699.60
2004Alvin Pearman2831411.21
2005Emmanuel Byers88110.10
2006Mike Brown141349.60
2007Vic Hall2323010.00
2008Vic Hall161026.40
2009Chase Minnifield20884.40
2010Chase Minnifield13846.50
2011Dominique Terrell14614.40
2012Khalek Shepherd23893.30
2013Dominique Terrell181427.90
2014Khalek Shepherd261154.40
2015Maurice Canady512625.21

Top Videos
Jeff White
Zed Williams
Williams' UVA Journey Nearing Its End
Men's Lacrosse
One game remains in the college career of attackman Zed Williams, who'll graduate from UVA next month with a bachelor's degree in drama.
Robin Afamefuna
Afamefuna Thriving in New Role
Men's Soccer
After making the ACC's All-Freshman team as a defender last fall, Virginia's Robin Afamefuna is looking to contribute more at the attacking end this year.
Rachel Vander Kolk
'Hoos Head Into Postseason on High Note
Women's Lacrosse
In its regular-season finale, Virginia clinched the No. 3 seed in the ACC tournament with a 6-5 win over Virginia Tech at Klöckner Stadium.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Team Shop