Skip to simplified nav

Punting Records

Quick Links Section

Annual Leaders

Career276 Russ Henderson1975-78 
Season85 Russ Henderson1977 
85 Alec Vozenilek2013 
Game14 Billy Maxwell vs. South Carolina1972 

Career11,951 Russ Henderson1975-78 
Season3,615 Russ Henderson1977 
Game537 Alec Vozenilek vs. BYU2013 

Career43.3 Russ Henderson1975-78 
Season45.9 Russ Henderson1976 
Game51.6 Ryan Weigand vs. Wyoming2007 

Annual Punting Leaders
1940Bill Dudley73254034.80
1941Bill Dudley61218535.82
1942Tabb Gillette 54196536.43
1944Lucien Burnett43145233.84
1946George Grimes 2373532.03
1947George Grimes 50203940.80
1948Whitey Michels41154137.60
1949Whitey Michels42165639.40
1950Harold Hoak45180840.20
1951Harold Hoak43156936.50
1952Harold Hoak57222839.10
1953Ray Quillen2486536.00
1954Henry Strempek38138836.51
1955Wilson Tinsley31114036.80
1956Alvin Cash2798036.30
1957Nelson Yarbrough1864235.70
1958Alvin Cash1552034.70
1959Joe Board37134636.40
1960Wayne Ballard1959931.50
1961Tom Griggs62207533.50
1962Tom Griggs52189236.41
1963Tom Shuman60221036.81
1964Tom Shuman43149134.71
1965Braxton Hill47176337.50
1966Paul Reeve 30105535.20
1967Braxton Hill48176636.80
1968Hunter Richards55201936.72
1969Hal Trentham60217436.20
1970Hal Trentham69267138.71
1971Billy Maxwell 71261736.90
1972Billy Maxwell 72252635.10
1973Billy Maxwell 50188837.80
1974Joe Jenkins59215736.60
1975Russ Henderson50210842.20
1976Russ Henderson69316845.90
1977Russ Henderson (led ACC)85361542.50
1978Russ Henderson (led ACC)72306042.50
1979Ford Mays64238037.20
1980Ford Mays55218739.80
1981Jeff Walker76292038.40
1982Jeff Walker74302040.80
1983Jeff Walker61240439.40
1984Kevin Ferguson62244339.40
1985Jeff Walker62246739.80
1986Joel Dempsey60228138.00
1987Fred Carter28107038.20
1988Joel Dempsey46169936.90
1989Myron Martin2593637.40
1990Ed Garno 39166242.60
1991Ed Garno (led ACC)47197542.00
1992Patrick Harkleroad37139537.70
1993Will Brice 48202542.20
1994Will Brice 55223040.50
1995Will Brice 73300741.20
1996Will Brice 52232344.70
1997Frank Rotella 60239840.01
1998Donnie Scott58247342.60
1999Donnie Scott55223340.60
2000Mike Abrams65276842.60
2001Mike Abrams62261642.20
2002Tom Hagan62227336.70
2003Tom Hagan63219334.80
2004Sean Johnson32113135.30
2005Chris Gould53212240.00
2006Chris Gould56214838.40
2007Ryan Weigand (led ACC) 52235245.20
2008Jimmy Howell64249439.00
2009Jimmy Howell66264740.10
2010Jimmy Howell49206642.20
2011Jimmy Howell62244239.43
2012Alec Vozenilek66267740.60
2013Alec Vozenilek85350041.20
2014Alec Vozenilek58246342.52
2015Nicholas Conte52232244.71

Top Videos
Jeff White
Aliyah Huland El
'Hoos Exit With Heads Held High
Women's Basketball
In its first trip to the NCAA tourney since 2010, 10th-seeded Virginia went 1-1 in Columbia, S.C., defeating seventh-seeded Cal and losing to second-seeded South Carolina.
Felicia Aiyeotan
'Hoos Look To Take Next Step in NCAA Tourney
Women's Basketball
A win Sunday night over second-seeded South Carolina would send 10th-seeded Virginia to the NCAA tournament's Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 2000.
Tony Bennett
End Comes Too Soon for No. 1 Cavaliers
Men's Basketball
In the NCAA tournament's first round, No. 1 seed Virginia lost 74-54 to No. 16 seed UMBC in a South Region game in Charlotte, N.C.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop