Skip to simplified nav

Oct. 13, 1997

1997 Men's Lacrosse Honors, 1998 Captains Named

Charlottesville, VA - Virginia men's lacrosse coach Dom Starsia announced the winners of the team awards for the 1997 Cavaliers and the names of the captains for 1998 this past weekend at the annual post-season function at the St. Paul's School in Baltimore. The 1997 Cavaliers finished with an 11-3 mark last spring and UVa lost in the NCAA quarterfinals, bowing to eventual NCAA runnerup Maryland 10-9 at College Park in May.

The newest award is sponsored by alumnus Norris Broyles and is given in honor of Tom Compton(a UVa 1953 grad, first team All American 1953, second team in 1952; one of UVa's greatest midfielders). The award is given this year(for outstanding alumni contributions to Virginia lacrosse) to HENRY "PUNCH" PETERSON) a 1961 UVa graduate(first team A-A in 1961. He is a member of the Central Virginia Lacrosse Hall of Fame and a past president of the Lacrosse Foundation).

The second Lawrie Riggs Award(for generosity, commitment, and citizenship) went to DARREN MAHONEY(fourth-year starting defender, from Mahopac HS, and Mahopac, NY) and to KURT MUELLER (fourth-year midfielder, five goals, two assists, from Germantown Academy and Blue Bell, PA).

The Tom Rixey Award(for spirit and inspiration) was given to WILL SILVERMAN(first-year goalie, seven saves, four goals allowed, from the Collegiate School , Richmond ).

The Most Improved Award went to CHRIS SANDERSON(third-year starting goalie, 146 saves, 118 goals allowed, 55.3 save %, 10.27 goals against average, from Orangeville HS, in Orangeville(Ontario, Canada).

The E. Doyle Smith Award winner(top grade point average for the 1996-97 session) is BEN JOHNSON (fourth-year midfielder, played in six games, two goals, 13 of 25 faceoffs, Wilton(CT) HS, from Greensboro, NC). He had a 3.593 GPA(4.00 scale) in sociology.

The MVP on Defense Award for the third year in a row went to TOMMY SMITH(fourth-year defenseman, started all last three seasons, led the close defense with 38 ground balls, from Fayetteville-Manlius HS, Manlius, NY). Smith also received other honors in 1997: All ACC(second time), All ACC Tournament(second time, team captain, and third team All American[third time making a top-three team, 3,1, 3]). He also played in the North-South game.

The MVP Award for Offense in 1997 was a co-choice. MICHAEL WATSON(fourth-year, attack, St. Paul's School, Towson, MD, started all four seasons, led the attack in shots, ground balls, was third on the team in goals 32, second in assists 30, and second in points 62). He also earned many honors for 1997 play(All ACC(fourth time), All ACC MVP, first team All American(second time--3, 2, 1, 1 teams in four years). He played in the North-South game(3+3=6) and in his career at UVa he had 142+98=240(second goals, third points). The other recipient was DAVID CURRY(fourth-year midfield, New Canaan HS, New Canaan, CT, started both his UVa seasons, led the middies in goals with 33 goals, plus six assists. The transfer from Gettysburg notched a two-year total of 63+17=80. He was named All ACC, All ACC Tournament, and first team All American(he had been a first team D-III AA in 1995 at Gettysburg).

The Harry Gaver Award(for leadership) went to TUCKER RADEBAUGH(second-year midfield, started both his UVa seasons, scored 24+11=35--second leading midfield scorer, St. Paul's School, Glen Arm, MD). He was an All American Honorable mention selection. He is the first second-year player to win this award, and he returns in 1998.

The winner of the Dr. Allen Voshell Award(most valuable player) was DOUG KNIGHT(fourth year attack, 39 goals, 33 assists, 72 points, lead the team in goals, assists, and points, as well as the ACC in assists and points, from Westminster School, Katonah, NY). His career mark of 165 goals is a school record(2nd ACC), and his 249 career points is a new school mark and third in the ACC standings. A captain in 1997, he won other honors: All ACC(third time), All ACC Tournament(third time), North-South All Star Classic team(6+3=9), and first-team All American[2,1,1 last three years]).

The Captains for 1998 will be DAVID WREN( now fourth-year midfield, 26+6=32 last season, from Lincoln-Sudbury HS, Sudbury, MA). His 1997 honors include All ACC, All ACC Tournament, second team All American. The other captain for 1998 will be TUCKER RADEBAUGH(see above).

In making the announcement, Starsia said: "1997 is one of the great seasons in Virginia lacrosse history. Leading the NCAA in scoring, breaking the school record on offense for the fourth consecutive year, winning ten games in a row and our first-ever ACC Tournament championship reflect the consistent quality of effort demonstrated by this team. Our reflections on 1997 celebrate their accomplisments."


Top Videos
Jeff White
Sergi Nus
Nus Traveling Road to Recovery
Men's Soccer
Rising senior Sergi Nus, an All-ACC defender who's recovering from a torn ACL, expects to be ready for Virginia's opener in August.
Devon Hall
Hall Working to Raise NBA Stock
Men's Basketball
By the time the NBA draft arrives on June 21, former UVA guard Devon Hall will have worked out for nearly two-thirds of the league's 30 teams.
Jack Mueller
Mueller Sets Sights on World Title
Early this month, Jack Mueller, a rising junior at UVA, clinched a spot on the U.S. team that will compete at the U23 freestyle world championships in Romania.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop