Skip to simplified nav
Aitken and Conrad Named to the Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

March 2, 2018

NEW YORK – Virginia men’s lacrosse student-athletes Dox Aitken and Ryan Conrad have been named to the 2018 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List, announced the Tewaaraton Foundation. Aitken and Conrad are two of 50 male student-athletes named to the watch list. 

Aitken (Midfield, So., Villanova, Pa.) is third on the team with nine goals and 12 points. He has also picked up 11 ground balls. Aitken was credited with two game-winning goals through UVA’s first two games, including his score in the second overtime against Loyola.

Conrad (Midfield, Jr., Timonium, Md.) has three goals and three assists. He is second on the team with 22 ground balls. Conrad picked up 10 ground balls against Princeton.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 22 and April 5. On April 26, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. 



Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 10 and invited to the ceremony. The 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 31.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
Founded at the University Club of Washington, D.C., and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Trophy celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit


Top Videos
Jeff White
Devon Hall
Hall's NBA Stock Rising
Men's Basketball
By the time the NBA draft arrives on June 21, former UVA guard Devon Hall will have worked out for nearly two-thirds of the league's 30 teams.
Jack Mueller
Mueller Sets Sights on World Title
Early this month, Jack Mueller, a rising junior at UVA, clinched a spot on the U.S. team that will compete at the U23 freestyle world championships in Romania.
Carla Williams
Master Plan Offers Transformational Blueprint
General Release
A proposed master plan for the athletics precinct on North Grounds was presented Thursday to the Board of Visitors' Buildings and Grounds Committee.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop