Skip to simplified nav
Doug Knight to be Inducted into the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Doug Knight played at Virginia from 1994-1997.

May 23, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Former Virginia men’s lacrosse attackman Doug Knight is a member of the 2017 US Lacrosse Hall of Fame class, as announced by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors. Knight will be the 13th overall Cavalier to be inducted and the first since Jay Jalbert in 2014.

This year’s nine-person class will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 23, at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Knight enjoyed an All-American career at UVA, earning first team honors on attack in 1996 and 1997 and second team accolades in 1995. He was also selected as the recipient of the Raymond Enners Award as the national player of the year in 1996. Knight earned All-ACC honors three times (1995, 1996, 1997) and was named the ACC Tournament’s MVP in 1997 after leading Virginia to the title. He was also UVA’s team MVP in 1997. Knight still ranks as Virginia’s all-time leader in career goals (165) and is now second in career points (249) after finishing his career as the all-time leader. He still holds school single-season records for goals (56) and points (86), both established in 1996. Knight’s professional career included two seasons as an indoor player for the Baltimore Thunder, and three seasons in the outdoor game with the Boston Cannons and Philadelphia Barrage. He was inducted into the US Lacrosse Charlottesville Chapter’s Hall of Fame in 2012.

Knight is now the camp director at Camp Tecumseh, a summer camp in Moultonborough, N.H. Camp Tecumseh, founded in 1903, is a residential summer camp for boys ages 8-16 located in the White Mountains of New Hampshire on Lake Winnipesaukee. 

To be eligible for the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a player must have had at least 10 years pass from their scheduled graduation year and be retired from the game.

Tickets for the 2017 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, sponsored by RPS Bollinger and the Markel Insurance Company, will be available to the public for purchase beginning August 1. Tickets will be sold online at

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Over 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located alongside the National Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Md.
The 2017 inductees are: Doug Knight, Leslie Blankin Lane, Jim McDonald, Laurette Payette, Casey Powell, Jill Johnson Redfern, Brooks Sweet, Robyn Nye Wood (Virginia), and Don Zimmerman.




Top Videos
Jeff White
Hilmar Jonsson
NCAA Quest Begins for Iceland Native
Track & Field, Cross Country
A three-time ACC champion in the hammer throw, Virginia junior Hilmar Jonsson competes Thursday at the NCAA East Preliminary meet in Tampa, Fla.
Daniel Lynch
Lynch Shines Again in His Season Finale
In what was probably his final appearance for UVA, junior left-hander Daniel Lynch struck out seven Tuesday against Florida State in the ACC tournament.
Kent Merritt
UVA Pioneer Ready for Next Chapter
Kent Merritt, who's retiring next month from his position in the history department, was among the first African-American football players at Virginia.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop