Skip to simplified nav
Five Cavaliers Named to the All-ACC Academic Team

Chris LaPierre

June 24, 2014

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Five members of UVa’s men’s lacrosse team were named to the 2014 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team, announced by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. Senior midfielder Rob Emery and junior attackman Owen Van Arsdale head the UVa honorees with their third career nods.  Junior midfielder Ryan Tucker earned his second career honor.  Senior midfielder Chris LaPierre and senior defenseman Joseph Lisicky each earned their first career nods.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Emery and Van Arsdale are two of seven honorees on this year’s 32-man All-ACC Academic team that own at least three career nods.

Emery (San Francisco, Calif.) was a USILA Scholar All-American and a USILA honorable mention All-American in 2014, finishing with 14 goals and five assists. His 73 career goals places him No. 9 all-time at UVa among midfielders. He was also named to the All-ACC Academic team in 2011 and 2013.

LaPierre (Medford, N.J.) was a USILA honorable mention All-American in 2014 after finishing his career with 259 career ground balls, tying him with Tillman Johnson for No. 10 all-time at UVa. He became only the fourth Cavalier to play in 70 career games.

Lisicky (Chadds Ford, Pa.) picked up 46 ground balls and caused 19 turnovers in his only season on Grounds. He appeared in all 16 games, primarily as a longstick midfielder.



Tucker (Towson, Md.) started all 15 games in which he appeared and finished No. 3 on the team with 24 goals. His goal with one-tenth of a second left in regulation helped UVa force overtime in the season opener against Loyola. He was also named to the All-ACC Academic team in 2013.

Van Arsdale (Charlottesville, Va.) started all 16 games on attack and finished with a team-high 27 assists, ranking No. 28 in the nation. He was also named to the All-ACC Academic team in 2012 and 2013.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jordan Wolf, Duke

2014 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team

Jordan Wolf (4)  Sr.  History Duke
Deemer Class (2) So. Sociology Duke
Brendan Fowler (2) Sr. Sociology Duke
Casey Carroll GS MBA Duke
Christian Walsh (4) Sr. History Duke
Will Haus Jr. Sociology Duke
Chris Hipps (3) Sr. History Duke
Connor Cannizzaro Fr. Letters & Science   Maryland
Matthew Dunn (2) So. Business Maryland
Michael Ikeda Jr. Family Science Maryland
Henry West So. Letters & Science Maryland
Jacob Bailey (3) Jr. Journalism North Carolina
James Bitter (2) Jr. Journalism North Carolina
Ryan Creighton Sr. Business Admin. North Carolina
Joey Sankey (3) Sr. Journalism North Carolina
Shane Simpson Fr. Undecided North Carolina
Douglas Hopkins Sr. Finance Notre Dame
James Marlatt Sr. Finance Notre Dame
Liam O’Connor Sr. Finance Notre Dame
Stephen O’Hara Sr. Finance Notre Dame
Sergio Perkovic Fr. Undeclared Notre Dame
John Scioscia Sr Finance Notre Dame
Peter McCartney R-Jr. Accounting, Finance Syracuse
Derek Maltz Sr. Public Relations Syracuse
Brandon Mullins R-So Finance Syracuse
Kevin Rice Jr. History Syracuse
Billy Ward  Sr. Health & Exercise Science Syracuse
Robert Emery (3) Sr. Economics Virginia
Chris LaPierre GS Accounting Virginia
Joseph Lisicky
GS Accounting Virginia
Ryan Tucker (2)
Jr. History Virginia
Owen Van Arsdale (3) Sr. Commerce Virginia

 (#) – Career All-ACC Academic Honors


Top Videos
Jeff White
Hilmar Jonsson
NCAA Quest Begins for Iceland Native
Track & Field, Cross Country
A three-time ACC champion in the hammer throw, Virginia junior Hilmar Jonsson competes Thursday at the NCAA East Preliminary meet in Tampa, Fla.
Daniel Lynch
Lynch Shines Again in His Season Finale
In what was probably his final appearance for UVA, junior left-hander Daniel Lynch struck out seven Tuesday against Florida State in the ACC tournament.
Kent Merritt
UVA Pioneer Ready for Next Chapter
Kent Merritt, who's retiring next month from his position in the history department, was among the first African-American football players at Virginia.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop