Skip to simplified nav

1997 Virginia Men's Soccer Schedule

1997-98 Releases
Day     Date            Opponent                                        Time
Sat.    August 30       at American                                     L, 3-1       Recap
                        COCA-COLA CLASSIC
Fri.    September 5     VIRGINIA vs. AKRON                              W, 5-1       Recap   |   Stats
Sun.    September 7     VIRGINIA vs. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL              T, 1-1       Recap
Wed.    September 10    CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE                       W, 4-0       Recap
Sat.    September 13    at Maryland *                                   T, 0-0       Recap
Wed.    September 17    VIRGINIA TECH                                   W, 3-1       Recap
Sun.    September 21    WAKE FOREST *                                   W, 3-1       Recap
Wed.    September 24    VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH                           W, 2-1       Recap
Sun.    September 28    NORTH CAROLINA *                                W, 2-1       Recap
Wed.    October 1       LIBERTY                                         W, 5-2       Recap
Sun.    October 5       at North Carolina State *                       L, 2-1(2OT)  Recap
Wed.    October 8       at Georgetown                                   W, 1-0       Recap
Sat.    October 11      at Seton Hall                                   W, 3-2       Recap
Sun.    October 19      CLEMSON *                                       T, 1-1       Recap
Sat.    October 25      at Duke *                                       W, 2-0       Recap
Wed.    October 29      MOUNT SAINT MARY'S                              W, 3-0       Recap
Sat.    November 1      at Old Dominion                                 L, 1-0       Recap
Fri.    November 7      GEORGE MASON                                    W, 3-1       Recap
        November 13-16  Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament (at Orlando, Fla.) 
        November 13     vs. North Carolina                              W, 4-0       Recap
        November 14     vs. Wake Forest                                 W, 2-1       Recap
        November 16     vs. Maryland (ACC Championship)                 W, 2-0       Recap
        November 23     HOWARD                                          W, 3-0       Recap
        November 30     GEORGETOWN                                      W, 5-1       Recap
                        NCAA Championships
Sat.    December  6     AMERICAN                                        W, 2-1       Recap
        December 12     Saint Louis University                          W, 3-1       Recap
        December 14     UCLA                                            L, 2-0       Recap
Home games listed in all caps
All home games played at Kloeckner Stadium 
* Atlantic Coast Conference games

Schedules

Top Videos
Jeff White
Steve Garland
Paulsons Eager to Help Elevate UVA Wrestling
Wrestling
7/25/17
UVA head coach Steve Garland's new assistants are twins Travis and Trent Paulson, former standouts at Iowa State.
Jeff Jernigan
Sky's the Limit for UVA Pole Vaulter
Track & Field, Cross Country
7/20/17
Jeff Jernigan, who over the course of his UVA career became one of the ACC's top pole vaulters, was commissioned in the U.S. Navy in May.
Garett Tujague
Graduate Transfers Bolster Offensive Line
Football
7/18/17
Graduate transfers John Montelus and Brandon Pertile will compete for starting jobs on the offensive line when UVA opens training camp late this month.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

jwhite@virginia.edu

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

Archives
More Headlines
Online Stores
Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop