Skip to simplified nav

1997 Virginia Men's Soccer Schedule

1997-98 Releases
Day     Date            Opponent                                        Time
Sat.    August 30       at American                                     L, 3-1       Recap
                        COCA-COLA CLASSIC
Fri.    September 5     VIRGINIA vs. AKRON                              W, 5-1       Recap   |   Stats
Sun.    September 7     VIRGINIA vs. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL              T, 1-1       Recap
Wed.    September 10    CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE                       W, 4-0       Recap
Sat.    September 13    at Maryland *                                   T, 0-0       Recap
Wed.    September 17    VIRGINIA TECH                                   W, 3-1       Recap
Sun.    September 21    WAKE FOREST *                                   W, 3-1       Recap
Wed.    September 24    VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH                           W, 2-1       Recap
Sun.    September 28    NORTH CAROLINA *                                W, 2-1       Recap
Wed.    October 1       LIBERTY                                         W, 5-2       Recap
Sun.    October 5       at North Carolina State *                       L, 2-1(2OT)  Recap
Wed.    October 8       at Georgetown                                   W, 1-0       Recap
Sat.    October 11      at Seton Hall                                   W, 3-2       Recap
Sun.    October 19      CLEMSON *                                       T, 1-1       Recap
Sat.    October 25      at Duke *                                       W, 2-0       Recap
Wed.    October 29      MOUNT SAINT MARY'S                              W, 3-0       Recap
Sat.    November 1      at Old Dominion                                 L, 1-0       Recap
Fri.    November 7      GEORGE MASON                                    W, 3-1       Recap
        November 13-16  Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament (at Orlando, Fla.) 
        November 13     vs. North Carolina                              W, 4-0       Recap
        November 14     vs. Wake Forest                                 W, 2-1       Recap
        November 16     vs. Maryland (ACC Championship)                 W, 2-0       Recap
        November 23     HOWARD                                          W, 3-0       Recap
        November 30     GEORGETOWN                                      W, 5-1       Recap
                        NCAA Championships
Sat.    December  6     AMERICAN                                        W, 2-1       Recap
        December 12     Saint Louis University                          W, 3-1       Recap
        December 14     UCLA                                            L, 2-0       Recap
Home games listed in all caps
All home games played at Kloeckner Stadium 
* Atlantic Coast Conference games


Top Videos
Jeff White
Demetrious Nicholson
End Comes Too Soon for 'Hoos
Women's Soccer
In women's soccer, Virginia finished with a 19-1-13 after falling in the NCAA quarterfinals to Rutgers in a penalty-kick shootout Friday at Klöckner Stadium.
Darius Thompson
Stage Set for Season Finale
At noon Saturday, in the rivals' annual clash for the Commonwealth Cup, Virginia (4-7, 3-4) meets Virginia Tech (5-6, 3-4) at Scott Stadium.
Taquan Mizzell
'Hoos Have Plenty in Reserve at JPJ
Men's Basketball
No. 12 Virginia received 30 points from its reserves in an 80-54 win over Lehigh on Wednesday night at John Paul Jones Arena.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Team Shop