Skip to simplified nav

1997 Virginia Men's Soccer Schedule

1997-98 Releases
Day     Date            Opponent                                        Time
Sat.    August 30       at American                                     L, 3-1       Recap
                        COCA-COLA CLASSIC
Fri.    September 5     VIRGINIA vs. AKRON                              W, 5-1       Recap   |   Stats
Sun.    September 7     VIRGINIA vs. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL              T, 1-1       Recap
Wed.    September 10    CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE                       W, 4-0       Recap
Sat.    September 13    at Maryland *                                   T, 0-0       Recap
Wed.    September 17    VIRGINIA TECH                                   W, 3-1       Recap
Sun.    September 21    WAKE FOREST *                                   W, 3-1       Recap
Wed.    September 24    VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH                           W, 2-1       Recap
Sun.    September 28    NORTH CAROLINA *                                W, 2-1       Recap
Wed.    October 1       LIBERTY                                         W, 5-2       Recap
Sun.    October 5       at North Carolina State *                       L, 2-1(2OT)  Recap
Wed.    October 8       at Georgetown                                   W, 1-0       Recap
Sat.    October 11      at Seton Hall                                   W, 3-2       Recap
Sun.    October 19      CLEMSON *                                       T, 1-1       Recap
Sat.    October 25      at Duke *                                       W, 2-0       Recap
Wed.    October 29      MOUNT SAINT MARY'S                              W, 3-0       Recap
Sat.    November 1      at Old Dominion                                 L, 1-0       Recap
Fri.    November 7      GEORGE MASON                                    W, 3-1       Recap
        November 13-16  Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament (at Orlando, Fla.) 
        November 13     vs. North Carolina                              W, 4-0       Recap
        November 14     vs. Wake Forest                                 W, 2-1       Recap
        November 16     vs. Maryland (ACC Championship)                 W, 2-0       Recap
        November 23     HOWARD                                          W, 3-0       Recap
        November 30     GEORGETOWN                                      W, 5-1       Recap
                        NCAA Championships
Sat.    December  6     AMERICAN                                        W, 2-1       Recap
        December 12     Saint Louis University                          W, 3-1       Recap
        December 14     UCLA                                            L, 2-0       Recap
Home games listed in all caps
All home games played at Kloeckner Stadium 
* Atlantic Coast Conference games


Top Videos
Jeff White
Taquan Mizzell
Cavalier Football Notebook -- Virginia Tech Week
At noon Saturday, Virginia (4-7, 3-4) closes the season against Virginia Tech (5-6, 3-4) at Scott Stadium.
London Perrantes
'Hoos Hit Their Stride In Charleston
Men's Basketball
In winning the Charleston (S.C.) Classic, the Virginia men's basketball team posted an average margin of victory of 25.7 points.
Matt Johns
Johns Continues Late-Season Surge
A career day from quarterback Matt Johns helped Virginia defeated ACC rival Duke 42-34 in a Coastal Division game Saturday at Scott Stadium.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Team Shop