Skip to simplified nav
Opoku Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 8, 2017

2017 MAC Hermann Watch List |
Junior Edward Opoku (Rye, N.Y.) has been named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List as announced by the United Soccer Coaches. Opoku is one of 31 players to be placed on the preseason watch list.

Opoku has earned All-ACC honors his first two seasons at Virginia and was second on the team in goals with six in 2017. Five of his six goals last season served as game-winners, the 13th most in the country. Opoku went on to collect NSCAA First Team All-Region honors in his sophomore campaign.

In his first two seasons as a Cavalier, Opoku has appeared in 36 games, starting all but three. He has distributed five assists in two seasons, including three as a true freshman en route to an ACC All-Freshman Team nod.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List is compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award.

Virginia, ranked No. 13 in the 2017 Preseason United Soccer Coaches Poll, opens its season on August 25 when it hosts Villanova at Klöckner Stadium at 7:00 p.m. The Cavaliers will play home exhibition matches against Wright State (Aug. 12 – 1 p.m.) and Old Dominion (Aug. 15 – 7 p.m.).

Virginia soccer season tickets are still on sale and offer the best value. All fans can order season tickets online, in person or by telephone. To purchase tickets online, visit In-person purchases can be made at the Virginia Athletics Ticket Office in Bryant Hall at Scott Stadium on weekdays between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Telephone purchases can be made by calling 1-800-542-UVA1 (8821) or locally at 434-924-UVA1 (8821).



MAC Hermann Trophy Tentative Timeline
Aug. 8: Watch List announced
Nov. 29: Semifinalists (15) announced and voting opens
Dec. 7: Voting closes
Dec. 8: Finalists (3) announced
Jan. 5: Winner announced at Missouri Athletic Club banquet in St. Louis, Mo.

Previous MAC Hermann Trophy Winners (Virginia)
2002 – Alecko Eskandarian
1996 – Mike Fisher *#
1995 – Mike Fisher #
1993 – Claudio Reyna *#
1989 – Tony Meola *#
1987 – John Harkes *

The MAC Player of the Year Award and the Hermann Trophy Award merged in 2002. 
For winners prior to 2002:
* MAC Player of the Year Award winners
# Hermann Trophy Award winners


Top Videos
Jeff White
Aliyah Huland El
Blount Eager to Assume Larger Role
The job will not be handed to rising sophomore Joey Blount. He'll have to earn it. This is head coach Bronco Mendenhall's program, after all. But after spending the 2017 season as free safety Quin Blanding's understudy, Blount is the leading candidate to take over in the secondary for the University of Virginia's all-time leading tackler.
Felicia Aiyeotan
'Hoos Exit With Heads Held High
Women's Basketball
In its first trip to the NCAA tourney since 2010, 10th-seeded Virginia went 1-1 in Columbia, S.C., defeating seventh-seeded Cal and losing to second-seeded South Carolina.
Tony Bennett
'Hoos Look To Take Next Step in NCAA Tourney
Women's Basketball
A win Sunday night over second-seeded South Carolina would send 10th-seeded Virginia to the NCAA tournament's Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 2000.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop