Skip to simplified nav
Six Virginia Greats on NCAA Men's College Cup 50th Anniversary Team Ballot

Five former Virginia men’s soccer players and coaching legend Bruce Arena are among the 32 student-athletes and six coaches that make up the voting ballot for the NCAA Men’s College Cup 50th Anniversary Team, the NCAA announced.

Fans will have the chance to select the 11 best student-athletes and one coach throughout the last 50 years of the championship.

From Virginia, the coaching nominee is Arena, head coach of the Cavaliers from 1978-1995. Arena led Virginia to five national titles (1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994) and is the only Division I men's coach to win four consecutive championships. He amassed an overall record of 295-59-31. Arena was the recipient of numerous accolades, including seven ACC Coach of the Year honors and the 1993 National Coach of the Year award.

Former student-athletes Jeff Agoos (1986-1990), Mike Fisher (1993-1996), John Harkes (1985-1987), Tony Meola (1988-1989) and Claudio Reyna (1991-1993) are on the ballot.

Voting for the NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer 50th Anniversary will run until noon on Oct. 15. Individual fans only will be able to submit one vote. The ballot is available here.

Members selected to the anniversary team will be honored at the 2008 NCAA Men’s College Cup in Frisco, Texas, at Pizza Hut Park on Dec. 12-14.

During his four seasons with the Cavaliers, Agoos earned first team All-America honors twice, in 1988 and 1990 and also earned third team and second team honors in 1986 and 1989, respectively. He finished second in Hermann Award voting his senior season. In 1989, his junior year, Virginia went to the NCAA championship game where they became NCAA co-champions with Santa Clara.

Fisher was a member of Virginia's 1993 and 1994 NCAA National Championship teams. He finished his career as the school's career points leader with 167 on 56 goals and 55 assists. This made him only the third collegiate player to amass both 50 career goals and 50 career assists. He was honored with the MAC/Hermann Trophy in 1995 and 1996.

From 1985 to 1987, Harkes played soccer at the University of Virginia under fellow 50th Anniversary Team nominee, head coach Bruce Arena. Harkes was named to the NSCAA All-America first team in 1986 and 1987 in addition to earning the MAC/Hermann award in 1987.

One of the greatest goalkeepers to play college soccer, Meola earned first team All-America honors both his freshman and sophomore years. He also won the Hermann Trophy as a freshman in 1988 and the MAC Award as a sophomore in 1989.

Reyna was a big contributor to Virginia's NCAA championship titles in 1991, 1992 and 1993 and also racked up first team All-America honors in the process. He won the Hermann Trophy in 1993 and the MAC Award in 1992 and 1993. In addition Reyna was named the 1992 and 1993 Soccer America Player of the Year.




Top Videos
Jeff White
De'Andre Hunter
Hunter Dazzles as 'Hoos Stay Unbeaten
Men's Basketball
Behind a career-high 23 points from redshirt freshman De'Andre Hunter, unbeaten Virginia defeated Monmouth 73-53 on Sunday at JPJ.
Kurt Benkert
'Hoos Rue Missed Opportunity
On an afternoon when Kurt Benkert threw four touchdown passes, Virginia twice built 14-point leads before falling 44-28 to No. 2 Miami at Hard Rock Stadium.
Chris Sharp
Cavalier Football Notebook -- Miami Week
Two regular-season games remain for Virginia (6-4 overall, 3-3 ACC), which plays No. 2 Miami (9-0, 6-0) at noon Saturday at Hard Rock Stadium.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop