College Cup Semifinals Postponed Until Saturday

VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM UCLA/UVa action can now be seen on Saturday at noon on ESPN2.
VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM
UCLA/UVa action can now be seen on Saturday at noon on ESPN2.
VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM
Photo Gallery

Dec. 1, 2006

ST. LOUIS - - Due to the winter weather system that moved through the St. Louis area Thursday night, Friday's NCAA Men's Soccer College Cup semifinal games have been postponed until Sat., Dec. 2. The first game, featuring Virginia and UCLA, will now be played at 12 p.m. (ET)/11 a.m. (CT) Saturday and will be televised live on ESPN2. Wake Forest and UC Santa Barbara will meet at 2;30 p.m. (ET)/1:30 p.m. (CT), or 45 minutes following the first game, and can be seen on ESPN2 on tape delay at a time to be determined. Sunday's championship game is still scheduled for Sun., Dec. 3, at 3 p.m. (ET)/2 p.m. (CT), and will be shown live on ESPN2.

"The decision to postpone Friday's games was made in the interest of the health and safety of the student-athletes," said Noreen Morris, chairperson of the NCAA Men's Soccer Committee.

The weather system, which has gripped much of the central United States, dumped several inches of ice and snow in St. Louis late Thursday and into Friday morning. Saturday's forecast in St. Louis calls for sunny skies and 40-degree temperatures with light wind.