Top-Ranked Cavaliers Ready For National Team Indoors

VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM
Harrison Richmond

VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM
Harrison Richmond
VIRGINIASPORTSDOTCOM
 2013 ITA National Team Indoor Championships
 Date & Time  Feb. 15-18, 2013 
 Location  Seattle, Wash. | Nordstrom Tennis Center
 Multimedia  Tournament Homepage (Live Stats/Video)
 Additional Information  Twitter | Facebook | 

Feb. 14, 2013

SEATTLE - The top-ranked Virginia men's tennis team begins its quest for a fifth ITA National Team Indoor Championship in the past six years on Friday as its faces host Washington in the first round at the Nordstrom Tennis Center. Match time is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT) and there will be live scoring and video of the match.

The Cavaliers (2-0) reached the tournament with a pair of home wins last month during the ITA Kickoff Weekend. Virginia downed No. 63 North Florida 9-0 and No. 55 Arkansas 6-1 to open the season and advance to Seattle.

Washington (6-2) is ranked No. 24 nationally and reached the tournament as the host institution. The Huskies join the top 15 ranked teams in the current ITA rankings at the event.

Virginia won the tournament an unprecedented four consecutive years from 2008 to 2011. Two of those titles, 2008 and 2011, came in Seattle.

The Virginia-Washington winner will play either No. 8 Oklahoma or No. 9 Duke in the quarterfinals on Saturday at 5:30 p.m. PT (8:30 p.m. ET). The tournament semifinals are slated for Sunday and the championship match is at noon PT (3 pm ET) on Monday.

Tournament Preview with Alex Domijan