A new era in tennis at the University of Virginia dawned four years
ago with the opening of the Sheridan Snyder Tennis Center, a $1.4
million complex constructed in the heart of the historic grounds.
The 13-court facility showcases UVa's nationally-ranked men's and
women's tennis teams. With an environment to assure a winning
program, the complex boasts state-of-the-art lighting and spectator
areas built into the adjacent hillsides. Plans for the complex also
include a tennis pavilion that will house instructional and meeting
areas, tournament administration headquarters, and equipment storage
"The Sheridan Snyder Tennis Center is one of the finest collegiate
tennis facilities in the country," head coach Brian Boland said. "We
are extremely fortunate to have such a wonderful facility in which to
compete and practice. Its location also provides tremendous
visibility for the team, as we are the only athletic facility in the
central grounds. This will allow us to be visible to the large
number of tennis enthusiasts in the University and Charlottesville
The tennis center is named after Sheridan Snyder, a 1958 UVa graduate
who founded the National Junior Tennis League. Snyder is also a board
member of Friends of Virginia Tennis.
"Sherri Snyder loves the University of Virginia as much as anyone I
have ever met," Boland added. "He played tennis for UVa and was
captain of the team. We owe him and many other alumni and friends
our sincere appreciation for providing us one of the finest
facilities in the country."
Virginia's Sheridan Snyder Tennis Center not only provides a home for
the Cavaliers, but also hosts institutions from the community and
around the nation. In addition to University faculty and staff
tournaments, clinics, and student classes, the courts accommodate
community participants in the Dogwood Festival Tournament, a number
of Junior Tournaments, and MATA Tournaments. Open 18 hours a day, the
Center provides more than 120 hours of tennis opportunities each
week. The University community's enthusiasm over the facility is
evident in the steady stream of people enjoying the new courts.
Tennis facilities at UVa date back to 1931 with the construction of
the Lady Astor tennis courts. The school's first tennis center was
made possible by a gift from Nancy Lady Astor, a Virginia-born member
of the British Parliament, who contributed her resources on the
condition that others would take part in the venture.
During the more than six decades since the original 14 courts were
built, innumerable matches have been played on the site.
Together, the University and The Friends of Tennis program hope to
build on Lady Astor's foundation and create the most impressive and
functional facility for collegiate tennis in the nation.