Skip to simplified nav

ACC Championship History

Cavaliers at the ACC Championships

ACC Champions

1955123Colin Steele
 167Bernard Schwab
1956123Colin Steele
 167Ben Petrilli
1957115Sandy Wise
 HWTHenry Jordan
1958157Charles Gaudry
1960HWTLandon Hilliard
1962191Harry Lake
1963123Pete Harrison
1965130Bob Rhoads
1968123Jon Shurberg
1969137John Pegues
1970118Kim Hatcher
 134Shelly Zablow
 142John Pegues
1971142John Pegues
 190Kevin Michaels
1972177Kevin Michaels
1973126Dave Wendell
 134Mike McGonigal
 158Tom Derrickson
 167Kevin Michaels
1974150Matt Bacharach
 167Tom Derrickson
 190Bill Voliva
1975126Dave Wendell
 134Mike McGonigal
 150Matt Bacharach
 190Bill Voliva
1976126Steve Silverberg
 142Bob Harwick
1977142Bob Harwick
1978134Steve Silverberg
 142Bob Harwick
 158Jerry Young
1979134Chris Xakellis
1980134Chris Xakellis
1981142Buddy Kerr
 150Tim Wagner
1982142Buddy Kerr
1983126Jim Pagano
1984158Buddy Kerr
1985134John Parr
 HWTRoger Mello
1988177Derek Capanna
1989177Derek Capanna
 HWTJohn Matyiko
1995126Jason Mutarelli
 142Mike Krafchick
 177Gage Short
1996167Howie Miller
1997126Steve Garland
 150Jim Harshaw
 177Martius Harding
1998134Jason Mutarelli
 150Jim Harshaw
 158Alex Leykikh
1999125Matt Roth
 165Jim Harshaw
 197Craig Fenstermaker
2000141P.J. Bory
 184Ryan McGrath
2001165Greg Francesca
 184Jimi Massey
2002133Joe Alexander
 157Tim Foley
 184Jimi Massey
2003141Bob Seidel
 HWTJosh Etu
2004141Scott Moore
 157Tim Foley
2005157Paul Bjorlo
2007184Rocco Caponi
2008125Ross Gitomer
 184Rocco Caponi
2009174Chris Henrich
 184Rocco Caponi
 197Brent Jones
2010174Chris Henrich
 184Mike Salopek
2012125Matt Snyder
 141Nick Nelson
 184Jon Fausey
2013133George DiCamillo
2014157Blaise Butler
 165Nick Sulzer

Three-Time ACC Champions

John Pegues1969-70-71
Kevin Michaels1971-72-73
Bob Harwick1976-77-78
Buddy Kerr1981-82-84
Jim Harshaw1997-98-99
Rocco Caponi2007-08-09

ACC Wrestler of the Year

Matt Roth1999
Steve Garland2000
Scott Moore2004

ACC Tournament Outstanding Wrestler

John Pegues1971
Kevin Michaels1972
Steve Silverberg1976, 1978
Chris Xakellis1980
Tim Wagner1981
Matt Roth1999
Scott Moore2004
Brent Jones2009

ACC Freshman of the Year

Eric Albright2006
Chris Henrich2008
George DiCamillo2013

ACC Coach of the Year

Steve Garland2010



Top Videos
Jeff White
Bryce Perkins
Spring Football Notebook
As part of the inaugural Wahoowa Weekend, spring football concludes for the Cavaliers with an open practice April 28 at Scott Stadium.
Tina Thompson
Thompson Ready To Lead From Front
Women's Basketball
The mood was celebratory Wednesday afternoon at John Paul Jones Arena, where Tina Thompson was introduced as UVA's women's basketball coach.
Thomas Walsh
Walsh Ready to Lead 'Hoos in Postseason
Men's Golf
Healthy again after battling back problems for much of 2017, Thomas Walsh enters this weekend's ACC tournament in good form.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop