Skip to simplified nav
Six Cavaliers Named to All-ACC Academic Team

Feb. 2, 2018

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - Six Virginia field hockey players were named to the 2017 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Field Hockey Team, as announced Friday (Feb. 2) by Commissioner John Swofford.

Senior back Becca Zamojcin (Phoenixville, Pa.) earned the honor for the third time in her career while redshirt junior goalkeeper Carrera Lucas (Brooklandville, Md.) and sophomore back Dominique van Slooten (Laren, Netherlands) earned their second consecutive honors. Senior midfielder Nadine de Koning (Laren, Netherlands), sophomore back Anzel Viljoen (Matamata, New Zealand) and freshman back Rachel Robinson (Mount Joy, Pa.) were voted to the squad for the first time.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

Louisville midfielder Nicole Woods was named the ACC Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year.




Top Videos
Jeff White
Tina Thompson
Thompson Starts Laying Groundwork
Women's Basketball
Summer practice started Wednesday morning for the Virginia women's basketball team, which has a new head coach, Tina Thompson.
Jay Huff
Huff Looking to Make Up for Lost Time
Men's Basketball
A 7-1 forward from Durham, N.C., Jay Huff hopes to carve out a role in Virginia's frontcourt as a redshirt sophomore in 2018-19.
Sergi Nus
Nus Traveling Road to Recovery
Men's Soccer
Rising senior Sergi Nus, an All-ACC defender who's recovering from a torn ACL, expects to be ready for Virginia's opener in August.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop