Virginia Trio Selected to All-ACC Team



CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - Virginia field hockey players Elly Buckley, Paige Selenski and Michelle Vittese were named to the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference team, announced Wednesday by the league office.

Virginia has placed three student-athletes on the all-conference squad for the second straight year. Selenski and Vittese were both selections a year ago, as was former Cavalier Inga Stöckel.

Selenski, a junior out of Shavertown, Pa., was selected to the All-ACC team for the third consecutive season. She is a two-time All-American who leads the Cavaliers with 23 goals on the year; her seven game-winning goals also pace the league. She has two hat tricks on the year.

Vittese, an honoree for the second time, was named to the preseason All-ACC squad along with Selenski in August. The junior from Cherry Hill, N.J., has contributed four goals and two assists out of the backfield for the Orange and Blue.

Buckley, a freshman who hails from Perth, Australia, has made an immediate impact for UVa. She is second behind Selenski with 14 goals and leads the team with 10 assists. It is her first career honor.

Maryland senior Katie O'Donnell was tabbed the ACC Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive season. Terp mentor Missy Meharg was also named the ACC Coach of the Year.

No. 3 Virginia opens ACC Championship play at 3:30 p.m. Thursday against sixth-seeded Duke in Winston-Salem, N.C. The game will be webcast live on

2010 All-ACC Field Hockey Team

Name Year         
Emily Kozniuk 
Sr. M Boston College
Tara Jennings
Jr. M Duke
Rhian Jones !
Jr. B Duke
Jemma Buckley 
Jr. B Maryland
Megan Frazer 
So. M Maryland
Katie O'Donnell ^
Sr. F Maryland
Harriet Tibble So. B Maryland
Jill Witmer 
Fr. F Maryland
Jackie Kintzer !  
Sr. GK North Carolina
Kelsey Kolojejchick !   
So. M North Carolina
Marta Malmberg
Fr. B North Carolina
Caitlin Van Sickle 
So. B North Carolina
Elly Buckley  
Paige Selenski #
Michelle Vittese ! 
Jr. B
Lauren Greenwald
Wake Forest
Lizzie Rae
F Wake Forest

Offensive Player of the Year: Katie O'Donnell, Maryland
Defensive Player of the Year:
Caitlin Van Sickle, North Carolina
Freshman of the Year:
Jill Witmer, Maryland
Coach of the Year:
Missy Meharg, Maryland

! - Two-time selection
# - Three-time selection
^ - Four-time selection