Skip to simplified nav
Cavaliers Set to Compete at ACC Championships

April 12, 2017

 Virginia at the ACC Championships
 Dates  April 13-15
 Location  Pawleys Island, S.C. | The Reserve Golf Club
 Team Stats  2016-17 UVa Stats
 Live Scoring  Tournament Live Stats
 Additional Information  Twitter | Facebook | Golfstat Rankings
 Tourney Central   Championship Page | Fan Guide

Charlottesville, Va. - The Virginia women's golf team will compete at the 29th Annual ACC Championships this weekend at The Reserve Golf Club of Pawleys Island, S.C. from April 13-15. The Cavaliers have won the last two ACC titles, but are seeded ninth in the 12-team field this season.

Boston College, Virginia Tech and Notre Dame begin the championship on Thursday, teeing off at 8 a.m. Defending conference champion Virginia, Louisville and Clemson are next at 8:50 a.m., followed by North Carolina, NC State and Clemson at 9:40 a.m. Wake Forest, Duke and Florida State have the morning's final tee time at 10:30 a.m.

The Cavaliers' lineup for this year's event features senior Lauren Diaz-Yi (Thousand Oaks, Calif.), junior Maho Hayakawa (Lake Mary, Fla.) sophomores Morgan Gonzales (Chandler, Ariz.) and Anna Redding (Concord, N.C.) and freshman Julia Ford (Shrewsbury, Mass.)

Three of the Hoos have experience at the ACC Championships. Diaz-Yi helped UVA to its back-to-back titles in 2015 and 2016 with consecutive fourth-place finishes. She placed 25th her freshman season. Gonzales was 14th last year at the ACCs while Redding placed fifth.

Eight of the 12 ACC teams are currently ranked in the top 50 of the latest Golfstat rankings, including five in the top 25.

No. 4 Florida State is the league's highest ranked team, followed by Duke (10), Wake Forest (14), Miami (18), NC State (24), North Carolina (37), Clemson (41) and Louisville (43), Virginia (62), Notre Dame (67), Boston College (79) and Virginia Tech (94).

The 2017 ACC Championships marks Virginia's 14th appearance at the event. UVa has placed in the top-five in its last 12 showings at the ACC Championships. In addition to winning titles in 2015 and 2016, the Cavaliers were the runners up in 2014, 2010, 2008 and 2006. Brittany Altomare became the first UVa player to win the event in 2013. Lauren Coughlin took medalist honors last season. Briana Mao tied for first in 2015 but lost a playoff for the individual trophy.

The teams are scheduled to start Friday's second round at 8 a.m. and Saturday's final round will begin at 8:30 a.m. from the No. 1 and No. 10 tees.

The event will be shown on ACC Network Extra on Friday from 2 p.m. until the finish and Saturday from 1 p.m. until the end of play.

Live scoring is online at

The ACC Championship is the event where the point in the Commonwealth Clash, sponsored by Virginia529, the official college savings plan of University of Virginia Athletics, is at stake between UVA and Virginia Tech. The Commonwealth Clash encourages a friendly, statewide rivalry between the two schools across all school-sponsored sports with 22 individual event points on the line. The school that accumulates 11.5 points or more will be crowned the winner and take home the Virginia529 Commonwealth Clash trophy. Learn more about Virginia529 and this competition at Virginia Tech currently leads the current standings 9 to 7.




Top Videos
Jeff White
Devon Hall (0)
Hall Continues to Elevate His Game
Men's Basketball
On an afternoon when fellow guards Nigel Johnson and Kyle Guy also shined for No. 16 Virginia, Devon Hall scored a career-high 20 points and added five rebounds and five assists.
Mamadi Diakite
Diakite's Impact Growing for Cavaliers
Men's Basketball
Redshirt sophomore Mamadi Diakite has been a positive presence around the basket for No. 16 Virginia, which hosts Davidson on Saturday afternoon at JPJ.
George Welsh
Welsh Connection Adds to Bowl Storylines
Virginia (6-6) meets Navy (6-6) in the Military Bowl, Dec. 28 in Annapolis, Md. George Welsh is a former head coach of each team.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop