Skip to simplified nav
Cavalier Women's Soccer Wins ACC Championship over North Carolina in PKs

Nov. 7, 2004

Box Score

CARY, N.C. - The No. 4 ranked Virginia women's soccer team won its first ever ACC Championship in penalty kicks over No. 1 ranked North Carolina. The Cavaliers won the shootout 5-4, after the teams had played to a 1-1 tie.

The Cavaliers (16-2-2) took an early in the 24th minute when Sarah Huffman (Flower Mound, Texas) crossed a ball to Lindsay Gusick (Livonia, Mich.), who one-timed the ball inside the far post for a 1-0 Virginia advantage. Virginia maintained that advantage at halftime.

In the second half, the Tar Heels (18-0-2) created several chances to equalize early in the second half and finally did in the 56th minute. Elizabeth Guess was fouled in the penalty area and Kacey White converted the penalty kick to tie the game at 1-1. Late in regulation, Virginia had several opportunities to score the game-winner, but the contest remained tied through 90 minutes.

In the overtimes, the Cavaliers outshot the Tar Heels 4-1, but could not take advantage. Kristen Weiss (Brecksville, Ohio) had a chance in the final minute of the second overtime that beat Tar Heel keeper Aly Winget, but was saved off the line by a UNC defender.

With the game officially a 1-1 draw, the teams went to penalty kicks to decide the ACC Champion. Each team scored four times in the first five attempts, forcing extra kicks. In round six, Weiss converted her penalty kick and Christina de Vries (Westlake Village, Calif.) saved Mary McDowell's kick to win the championship.

The Cavaliers win their first ACC Championship, snapping North Carolina's 15-year run as conference champion. The draw ended North Carolina's 28-game winning streak vs. Virginia. Huffman and de Vries were named ACC Tournament Co-MVPs, while Gusick, Weiss, and Kelly Hammond (Bowie, Md.) were also named to the All-Tournament team.



Overall, North Carolina outshot Virginia 10-9. During the game, de Vries made one save, while Winget made three.

"As a purist, I hate to see a great game like this be determined by penalty kicks," said Virginia head coach Steve Swanson. "Both teams deserve credit for playing a tremendous championship game. Winning this championship feels great, and part of that is because of how high a bar UNC has set. Its special anytime you can make history."

The Cavaliers receive the ACC's automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament. The 64-team field will be unveiled Monday between 4:00 pm and 5:00 pm on ESPNews.

No. 4 Virginia 1, No. 1 North Carolina 1

Scoring 1 2 OT1 OT2 F PK
#4 Virginia (16-2-2) 1 0 0 0 1 (5)
#1 North Carolina (18-0-2) 0 1 0 0 1 (4)

1. UVa. Gusick (Huffman) 23:31
2. UNC. White (PK) 55:43

Shots: UVa 9, UNC 10
Corner Kicks: UVa 5, UNC 9
Saves: UVa 1, UNC 4
Fouls: UVa 16, UNC 16
Cards: none
Attendance: 3728
Weather: 73 degrees, clear

PK Shootout Summary

Round 1: UVa: Shannon Foley (goal)
UNC: Kendall Fletcher (wide right)
Round 2: UVa: Katie Bunch (goal)
UNC: Elizabeth Guess (goal)
Round 3: UVa: Sarah Huffman (goal)
UNC: Heather O'Reilly (goal)
Round 4: UVa: Jamie Fabrizio (save Winget)
UNC: Anne Morrell (goal)
Round 5: UVa: Kelly Hammond (goal)
UNC: Kacey White (goal)
Round 6: UVa: Kristen Weiss (goal)
UNC: Mary McDowell (save de Vries)


Top Videos
Jeff White
Hilmar Jonsson
NCAA Quest Begins for Iceland Native
Track & Field, Cross Country
A three-time ACC champion in the hammer throw, Virginia junior Hilmar Jonsson competes Thursday at the NCAA East Preliminary meet in Tampa, Fla.
Daniel Lynch
Lynch Shines Again in His Season Finale
In what was probably his final appearance for UVA, junior left-hander Daniel Lynch struck out seven Tuesday against Florida State in the ACC tournament.
Kent Merritt
UVA Pioneer Ready for Next Chapter
Kent Merritt, who's retiring next month from his position in the history department, was among the first African-American football players at Virginia.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop