Skip to simplified nav
Sinead Farrelly Named to Preseason Hermann Trophy List

CHARLOTTESVILLE - Virginia senior midfielder Sinead Farrelly (Havertown, Pa.) was named to the 2010 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, announced Wednesday. Farrelly was one of 45 players named to the list, which honors early candidates for the award annually given to the nation's top player.

Farrelly was a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2009. She led the Cavaliers in scoring with eight goals and eight assists and earned second-team All-American honors.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 7, 2011, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

Virginia, ranked No. 17 in the preseason NSCAA coaches poll, opens its preseason schedule on Friday when it plays Notre Dame in an exhibition in Maple City, Mich. The Cavaliers host James Madison in their final preseason game on Sunday at 7 p.m. at Klöckner Stadium. The regular season opens on Friday, August 20 when the Cavaliers host Liberty at Klöckner Stadium at 7 p.m.

Complete Preseason List





Top Videos
Jeff White
Evan Butts
Butts' Bond With Benkert Growing
A redshirt junior from the Philadelphia area, UVA tight end Evan Butts has become one of quarterback Kurt Benkert's most reliable targets.
Jack Salt
Salt Evolving Into Pivotal Presence
Men's Basketball
A redshirt junior from New Zealand, 6-11 center Jack Salt has grown into a team leader for UVA, which has made four straight NCAA tournament appearances.
Jimmy Miller (left) and Dave Koehn
Cavalier Men's Basketball Notebook
Men's Basketball
The season starts Nov. 10 for the Cavaliers, whose third annual Pepsi Blue-White scrimmage is Sunday afternoon at JPJ.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop