Skip to simplified nav
Women's Tennis Ready for NCAA Round of 16 Debut

STANFORD, Calif. -- The No. 11 Virginia women's tennis team begins play at the 2011 NCAA Championships on Friday as women's round of 16 play is held at the Taube Tennis Center. The Cavaliers (20-7) will play sixth-seeded UCLA in a match beginning at 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT). Live scoring and streaming video is available here.

The Cavaliers are making their first trip to the NCAA round of 16. They have already secured their first 20-win season and earlier this year reached a program-high No. 8 national ranking.

The round of 16 match will be the first ever meeting between Virginia and UCLA.

The winner of the Virginia-UCLA match will play the winner of the Duke-Georgia Tech match in the quarterfinals. That match would be on Sunday at noon PDT (3 p.m. EDT).


 

 

Schedules

Top Videos
Jeff White
De'Andre Hunter
Hunter Continues to Blossom for 'Hoos
Men's Basketball
1/22/18
Another strong performance off the bench by redshirt freshman De'Andre Hunter helped No. 2 Virginia rally for a 59-49 win at Wake Forest on Sunday night.
Debbie Ryan
1992-93 Cavaliers Step Back Into Spotlight
Women's Basketball
1/20/18
The 1992-93 Virginia women's basketball team will be honored Sunday at John Paul Jones Arena as part of National Girls and Women in Sports Day.
De'Andre Hunter (12) and Jack Salt (33)
'Hoos Make Themselves at Home in Atlanta
Men's Basketball
1/19/18
No. 2 Virginia, which plays Sunday at Wake Forest, stretched its winning streak to nine games with a victory over Georgia Tech in Atlanta on Thursday night.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

jwhite@virginia.edu

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

Archives
More Headlines
Online Stores
Auctions
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop