Skip to simplified nav
Virginia Closes Fall Schedule At Kitty Harrison Invite Sunday

Nov. 5, 2017

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – The Virginia women’s tennis team closed out fall competition on Sunday in the final day of competition at the Kitty Harrison Invitational hosted by North Carolina.

Sophomores Camille Favero (Sacramento, Calif.) and Chloe Gullickson (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.) picked up a pair of wins in singles play against opponents from Michigan to lead Virginia on the day. Favero rallied to defeat Mira Ruder-Hook 1-6, 7-5, 1-0 (7), while Gullickson also rallied to defeat Alex Najarian 1-6, 7-5, 1-0 (8).

With the final tournament of the fall in the books, the Cavalier will now begin preparations for the spring portion of the season. Virginia will return to action in January, hosting Old Dominion in a non-conference match on Thursday, Jan. 18 at 5 p.m.

No. 20 Meible Chi (Duke) def. Teodora Radosavljevic (UVA), 6-3, 6-3
Chloe Gullickson (UVA) def. Alex Najarian (Michigan), 1-6, 7-5, 1-0 (8)
Camille Favero (UVA) def. Mira Ruder-Hook (Michigan), 4-6, 6-1, 1-0 (7)
Lera Patiuk (Michigan) def. Erica Susi (UVA), 6-0, 6-1
Kara Hall (Michigan) def. Maya Das (UVA), 6-4, 5-7, 1-0 (4)
Rebecca Smaller (Duke) def. Lizzie Baker (UVA), 6-1, 6-2




Top Videos
Jeff White
Aliyah Huland El
'Hoos Exit With Heads Held High
Women's Basketball
In its first trip to the NCAA tourney since 2010, 10th-seeded Virginia went 1-1 in Columbia, S.C., defeating seventh-seeded Cal and losing to second-seeded South Carolina.
Felicia Aiyeotan
'Hoos Look To Take Next Step in NCAA Tourney
Women's Basketball
A win Sunday night over second-seeded South Carolina would send 10th-seeded Virginia to the NCAA tournament's Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 2000.
Tony Bennett
End Comes Too Soon for No. 1 Cavaliers
Men's Basketball
In the NCAA tournament's first round, No. 1 seed Virginia lost 74-54 to No. 16 seed UMBC in a South Region game in Charlotte, N.C.

Jeff White

Director of News Content

A 1985 graduate of UVA, White worked at the Richmond Times-Dispatch until July 2009. He was honored six times as the state's Sportswriter of the Year.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Cavalier Auctions
Cavalier Team Shop